Le forum des utilisateurs de Siril

Nouvelles:

  • L'équipe de développement de Siril est heureuse de vous accueillir dans ce forum.

    La version 0.9.11 est disponible!

    Le forum a été migré vers l'adresse www.forum.siril.org mettez à jour vos favoris !!!
  • We are delighted to welcome you to this forum

    Siril's version 0.9.11 is available!

    The forum has been migrated to www.forum.siril.org update your bookmarks!!!

Nouvelles

L'équipe de développement de Siril est heureuse de vous accueillir dans ce forum.

La version 0.9.11 est disponible!

Le forum a été migré vers l'adresse www.forum.siril.org mettez à jour vos favoris !!!

Importing Camera RAWs

Odiug · 256

Hors ligne Odiug

  • Mercurien
  • *
    • Messages: 4
    • Karma: +0/-0
le: mars 06, 2019, 08:54:47 20
Bonjour

When importing RAWs from my Olympus E-PL6, the imported FITS also have only 12 bit resolution. Well, yes, my Olympus has a 12 bit sensor. But when processing a sequence of pictures the resulting stacked picture also has roughly 12 bit resolution. OK, I could have used "Sum stacking", but I really wanted to use "Average stacking with rejection".

Would it be possible to scale the pictures at import? E.g. FITS created by Kstars/Ekos from a 12 bit camera are also scaled to 16 bit.

Kind Regards and Clear Skies
Guido



Hors ligne lock042

  • Administrator
  • Martien
  • *****
    • Messages: 339
    • Karma: +13/-0
Réponse #1 le: mars 06, 2019, 09:23:49 21
Citer
Would it be possible to scale the pictures at import? E.g. FITS created by Kstars/Ekos from a 12 bit camera are also scaled to 16 bit.

Doing a histogram transfer function at the end of the process will normalize to 16bits.



Hors ligne lock042

  • Administrator
  • Martien
  • *****
    • Messages: 339
    • Karma: +13/-0
Réponse #2 le: mars 07, 2019, 04:58:39 16
I will work on this issue for the next release: https://gitlab.com/free-astro/siril/issues/310



Hors ligne Odiug

  • Mercurien
  • *
    • Messages: 4
    • Karma: +0/-0
Réponse #3 le: mars 10, 2019, 05:37:16 17
Citer
Would it be possible to scale the pictures at import? E.g. FITS created by Kstars/Ekos from a 12 bit camera are also scaled to 16 bit.

Doing a histogram transfer function at the end of the process will normalize to 16bits.

At the end of which process? Importing, Pre-Processing?

Thanks
Guido



Hors ligne lock042

  • Administrator
  • Martien
  • *****
    • Messages: 339
    • Karma: +13/-0
Réponse #4 le: mars 10, 2019, 10:24:15 22
The normalization to 16bit has been added to Siril and will be available in the next version.



Hors ligne ChrisW

  • Mercurien
  • *
    • Messages: 2
    • Karma: +0/-0
Réponse #5 le: mars 31, 2019, 04:45:01 16
I see this issue too. I can average 100 Canon CR2 files and still effectively have a 14-bit image in a 16-bit wrapper.

In your final answer - just to be clear on the meaning,  I am assuming that the ideal scenario would be to have a 32-bit image but, if you are restricting it to 16-bit, maybe a 32-bit accumulator that is then scaled back to 16 bit for the file output.  I really hope you do not mean that you scale the 14-bit image to 16-bit. Simply multiplying a 14-bit result by 16 does not improve the tonal resolution at all.



Hors ligne lock042

  • Administrator
  • Martien
  • *****
    • Messages: 339
    • Karma: +13/-0
Réponse #6 le: mars 31, 2019, 09:15:47 21
Of course it does if you scale each image before stacking.